Rare Words

I’m ready for the Olympics to be over.

It’s rare that you would hear such words fall from my lips–or read them in my writing, as it were–but I am one exceedingly tired cookie. Burning the candle at both ends ain’t pretty.

This week’s schedule:

5:30 a.m.: I groan inaudibly as the alarm sounds.

5:30 a.m. – 6:10 a.m.: I bump around in the dark trying to quietly ready for work.

6:10 a.m.: I shuffle out the door.

6:10 a.m. – 6:50 a.m.: I drive to work at a pretty decent clip, slow only on one foggy morning.

6:50 a.m. – 7:00 a.m.: I actually sit in my car and read for eight minutes and then run up the elevator and clock in.

7:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.: I read policy contracts and company procedures until my eyes cross with only a ten minute break in the middle somewhere. Titillating, yes? <moan>

11:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.: I gladly rush off to my lunch break wherein I read for thirty minutes… fluffy fiction only! No legalese to irritate my brain.

12:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.: I begrudgingly return to more legal mumbo-jumbo, enough to cause my head to ache. Literally. Medication was required one day because my brain was that pained.

3:30 p.m. – 4:45 p.m.: I drive home… and if someone could please explain to me why it takes almost twice as long to get home as it does to march into doom, I’d be most grateful!

4:45 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.: I lounge like a slug in my pajamas. No joke. I change into my pajamas. I guess I feel a bit “normal” if I do that.

5:15 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.: I bellyache and complain about going to class as I change into my uniform and such.

5:30ish – 5:45ish: I rush off to school.

6:00 p.m. – 7:50 p.m.: I shamelessly enjoy myself as I play with fractions and decimals. By hand. I don’t need a calculator and only use one during tests (not that it helps when I read “8-3” and write an answer of “11”… oops! 24.5/25 on that quiz).

8:00 p.m. – 9:50 p.m.: The longest two hours of my day. By far. Yes, you’ve read right. I have Speech. Would someone kindly tell me why it was not a required course in my previous collegiate experience?! Because the dude I have for an instructor is a pompous, cocky man who loves the sound of his own voice more than he loves oxygen. In short, he’s an ass. I’m not sure if he’s a jackass or a horse’s ass, but he’s most certainly an ass. Possibly of the elephant variety because he’s certainly a huge ass. He spends more time on tangents speaking of himself and his so-called accomplishments than he does on the subject I’m paying to study. And lest you think I’m exaggerating, my classmates prefer the math class to the speech class. And most of them suck when it comes to the subject of mathematics. It really is that bad.

9:50 p.m. – 10:20ish: A handful of us usually stand around talking (or complaining) for a little while before making our way to our respective homes.

10:20 p.m. – 10:30 p.m.: I climb back into my beloved jammies. For the night this time.

10:30 p.m. – 12:30 a.m.: I barrel through the day’s events, skipping the first of two runs, the qualifying rounds, and the quarter- or semi-final rounds. I pretty much watch only the gold medal events or runs. I don’t have time for the other stuff, even though I’d ordinarily watch them.

12:30 a.m. – 5:30 a.m.: SLEEP! And then I start the entire process all over again.

I do have one unfortunate physiological flaw. When I’m accustomed to awakening early, my body continues to do so on my days off. So, even though I need quite a bit of sleep, and am yawning as I write this, I awoke at 8:00 a.m. on the nose this morning. After all, my body thought I’d “slept in” 2.5 hours. Aye-yi-yi. In honor of that cursed trait, I opted for a Pajama Saturday. I’ve been doing laundry and watching television. That’s right, I’ve been a total slug. I watched Monday’s episode of Castle, Wednesday’s episode of Criminal Minds, Thursday’s episode of CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, and then last night’s Olympics broadcast. (I didn’t get it all watched yesterday.) Then I spent a decadent hour watching last Sunday’s episode of Downton Abbey. So good.

In a little while I need to get dressed and go pick up a frame from Aaron Brothers. I blew up a photo of the Gettysburg Cyclorama and had it triple-matted. It’s done and ready to go on the wall. Since I’ve already sunk the bolts, that’s perfect! It also means I can return Joshua Paul’s drill. Everything I needed to hang has been hung. Yeah! Yes, I’m a do-it-yourself kind of girl. There’s a lot I can do and I enjoy the doing.

Calorie minimization has been phenomenal this week. It’s so crazy how much easier it is to be disciplined when you’re on such a tight, regimented schedule. So that’s a good thing.

Now, there’s still a lot I’m questioning regarding working while schooling. Working eight hours a day, going to class four hours a day, and being on the road 1.5 hours a day is completely draining and very hard. Right now I’m taking it day by day. Hopefully it’ll be week by week in short order. I’ll tell you more about the job later because that’s a whole different barrel of monkeys.

I’ll miss the Olympics when they’re over. But for now, I’m looking forward to more and more rest in between my juggernaut of a schedule. Because I’m tired. Exhausted, really. But I did survive.

Now… to go change loads of laundry and get dressed so I can rescue my huge photo.

See ya later, alligator!

3 thoughts on “Rare Words

  1. Lukim yu bahain time puk puk!

    • Beth says:

      Baz, my friend… um, I think I may require a translation. I don’t speak Aussie. I grew up in southern California, remember? The only thing I understand in there is “time”… and judging by everything else you muttered it might just be a fluke that your word is spelled like the one I’m conjuring up.

      Speaking of Aussie… it seems one of the good opportunities for externship is also your fair continent. So it’s officially in the running with Ireland, the U.K., and Germany. What say you to this?

      Smiles! :D

Leave a Reply

